Health and Wellbeing

My Experience with Covid 19

I had been SO careful not to catch Covid particularly after my Nan passed away following being diagnosed with it. I do not go out unless it is for a walk, I have food delivered rather than going to the shops, I wear a mask – I follow all the advice but I still managed to get Covid.

I kept a log of how I felt over the last few weeks as it helped to see when I started to feel better and certain symptoms appeared.

Thursday 4th February – tired, body aching, pain across shoulders, back and hip hurting

Friday 5th February – woke up with a tight chest

Saturday 6th February – Chest felt tight, breathing was a bit of a struggle, coughing, tired, headache (ordered a home test)

Sunday 7th February – Did test and sent it off, hard to walk up and down the stairs, making me breathless, food tasted weird

Monday 8th February – Very tired, headache, arm hurting, legs hurting, skin itchy, Test positive, freezing cold and shivering, hard to breathe, Track and trace called

Tuesday 9th February – tired, chest hurting, legs hurting, hardly any sleep, emotional

Wednesday 10th February – A lot of pain all over body, especially on the left side, feeling like a rubber band tied around the tops of my arm, extremely tired, left arm feels weak

Thursday 11th February – very tired, aching, sick, slept a lot, noticed I couldn’t smell anything, temperature starting to come down

Friday 12th February – queasy in the morning, very tired after doing anything, emotional, fed up of being ill

Saturday 13th February – Marysia’s Birthday – gutted I cant spent it with her, still coughing, chest still tight, tired when I move, rash on arm after shower, very queasy, temperature staying down

Sunday 14th February – very tired after eating, managed to eat more than the last few days

Monday 15th February – stuffy and headachy, temp still staying down, muscle twitches in legs, legs achy, tired

Tuesday 16th February – Out of Isolation. TIRED

Wednesday 17th February – Pains in legs overnight, bubbling sensation and twitching very tired this morning

Thursday 18th February – Feeling icky, and queasy, headachy

Friday 19th February – tired, noticed left hand side of body feels weaker than right side

Saturday 20th February – Stayed at Marysia’s, rested a lot with Boris

Sunday 21st February – managed to walk Boris with Marysia – very tired when I got home, fell asleep at half 3 for an hour, twitching legs and achy arms

Monday 22nd February – groggy first thing, very tired, achy in arms and legs, twitching in legs seems to be when I have become tired

Tuesday 23rd February – Stomach a bit queasy, tired, woke up early

Wednesday 24th February – achy legs

Thursday 25th February – Managed a walk on my own for the first time since getting ill, legs super twitchy when I got back

Friday 26th February – Managed to walk a bit further, legs twitchy, knee sore

Honestly, the last few weeks have not been fun, I have never felt so ill and run down in my whole life. That is not even an exaggeration! The whole of my isolation period I could not get out of bed even if I wanted to, everything hurt, and I was just so exhausted at times it was too much to even watch the television.

I am glad things are finally starting to get back to normal and am even more thankful that I had a mild version of Covid. I still have a few lingering symptoms such as getting worn out very easily if I push myself too much and getting out of breath quickly if I do too much but I am getting there – slowly but surely.

5 replies »

  1. I’m so glad that you got better, and I hope you will make a speedy full recovery. It’s sad that you took all the precautions and still got sick. Anyway, hopefully, the vaccine will end this whole thing.

    All the best, Michelle (michellesclutterbox.com)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.